That time we went to Durango.

Have I ever mentioned that Jon is from Durango, Colorado? Well, he is, and I don’t think any place in the world will ever be as meaningful to him as his home. Being from Salt Lake City, I can appreciate a longing for mountains and quiet places outside, but not to the extent Jon feels it. In each short narration of some aspect of his hometown, I get the sense that the words he utters cannot possibly fully express how deeply he loves Durango.

And so, we went there in July, and I better understood the beauty at which photographs and stories can only hint. As we drove through the small, winding streets of the little mountain town one day, Jon said he always dreamed of getting out of Durango when he was younger. Now, he dreams of getting back.

Jon’s brother and sister-in-law, James and Colleen, let us stay with them for a full ten days. We’re going back again, soon, so I figured it was high time to post my photos from our first trip to make room for the next round. I know photos won’t do Durango justice, but I hope I can offer some small glimpse of the fun we had.


















(I feel so bad that Kemper was just barely out of focus on this one!)

6 comments

    • Jessica C Ure

      Thank you, Claire! It was such a fun trip. I am glad I took the time to take photos because sometimes I don’t!

  1. Jeremiah

    I agree with Claire, these are great photos. And it’s been a while since I’ve been to Durango, but I remember it being a great place.

    • Jessica C Ure

      Thanks, Jeremiah! It really is lovely. It’s only 6 hours or so from SLC — you should go back, and get up to Ouray and Silverton while you’re at it.

  2. Chris

    Jess these are great photos. You are making me homesick. It took a while for Durango to be my home but it is more home than anywhere else. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Jessica C Ure

      Thanks, Chris. That really means a lot to me. I don’t think my photos from the second trip will be nearly as dynamic, but I’ll be posting some more in a while. I hope you get to go visit again sooner than later. It’ll be winter before you know it!

Say something.

